2016: $110,000 Petroleum Research Fund Doctoral New Investigator (DNI) grant from the American Chemical Society (ACS).

2017: James Dean received the second prize poster award in the Pittsburgh-Cleveland Catalysis Society Annual Meeting.

2016: Natalie Austinreceived the Women of Color STEM Conference Student Leadership Academic Award. 

2002-2003: Ι.Κ.Υ. - Greek State Scholarship’s Foundation (Master’s Course Performance, rank 1st)
2010: Participated in the 60th Nobel Laureates Meeting in Lindau-Germany, as a distinguished young researcher (An interdisciplinary meeting which brought together 500 young researchers who passed a multi-stage international selection procedure from around the globe, with Nobel Laureates from the fields of physiology, medicine, physics and chemistry).


2016: Peter Tancini receives the Swanson School of Engineering (SSOE) Summer Internship Award to perform research at Politecnico di Milano.

2016: Natalie Austin received the Pitt ΩΧΕ Departmental Research Day 1st Graduate Poster Award. 

2017: Michael Taylor received the Advancing Research Through Computing (ARC) 2017 Conference Best Poster award.

Undergraduate Student Awards

2016: $550,000 collaborative research grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF).

2016: James Pommersheim Award for Excellence in Teaching in Chemical Engineering by the University of Pittsburgh

With Prof. Walter Kohn (Chemistry Nobel prize 1998)

2014: Natalie Austin received the first poster award in the Pittsburgh-Cleveland Catalysis Society Annual Meeting 2014.

Graduate Student Awards

2008: €215,000 (awarded) - People-Marie Curie Actions, International Outgoing Fellowships, European Commission (E.U.) (FP7-PEOPLE-2007-4-1-IOF)

CANELA - Mpourmpakis Lab

2017: CAREER award by the National Science Foundation (NSF)

2016: Peter Tancini receives the Pitt ΩΧΕ Departmental Research Day 2nd undergraduate poster award. 

2016: Michael Taylor received the prestigious NSF Fellowship.

2016: Pavlo Kostetskyyreceived the AIChE 2016 National Meeting Division of Catalysis and Reaction Engineering Student Travel Award. 

2015: Natalie Austin received the prestigious NSF Fellowship.

Mpourmpakis' Awards

2001-2002: University of Crete, Chemistry Department, Operational Program for Education and Initial Vocational Training “Applied Molecular Spectroscopy” (Master’s Course Performance, rank 1st)
2011: €150,000 (awarded and declined) - Supporting Postdoctoral Researchers, Education and Lifelong Learning, Hellenic Republic-Ministry of Education and European Social Funds (E.U.)
2017: Pavlo Kostetskyy was selected to be one of two Graduate Student Directors for the Executive Committee of AIChE Catalysis and Reaction Engineering Division

With Nobel Laureates and international young researchers in Lindau Germany, June 2010 

With Prof. Rudolf A. Marcus (Chemistry Nobel prize 1992)

2017: Natalie Austin was awarded to participate in the 67th Nobel Laureate Meeting (focus on Chemistry) in Lindau Germany.

2014: Natalie Austin was selected and sponsored to participate in the "Graduate Summer School: Electronic Structure Theory for Materials and (Bio)molecules", UCLA 2014. 


2015: Peter Tancini  received the 3rd poster award in the AIChE 2015 National Meeting in Salt Lake City: " Formation Pathways of Pre-Nucleation Species in AuCu Bimetallic Nanoparticle Growth: A First Principles Study"
2016: Peter Tancini received the 1st place in “Computing and Process Control II” and the 1st place in the “Computing and Simulation Technology Division” for his undergraduate poster presentation at the AIChE 2016 National Meeting in San Francisco.
2015: Pavlo Kostetskyy won the Summer Term 2015 Outstanding PhD Paper.

2015: Elected from the Pittsburgh Business Times in “Who’s Who in Energy”.

2014: Natalie Austin won the Fall Term 2014 Outstanding PhD Paper.

2005: Stratis Sotirchos Award of “Best Research Work of New Scientist” in Panhellenic Symposium of Porous Materials. Demokritos, Athens, Greece